Who We Are

Ascension Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) is a 501 (C)(6) not-for-profit corporation with the mission of fueling sustainable growth in Ascension Parish, Louisiana with strategic initiatives that attract investment and support innovation. AEDC was created in 2005 by the Parish of Ascension, the Ascension Chamber of Commerce and the City of Gonzales, Louisiana under the state's economic development corporation statutes. AEDC's vision is that Ascension Parish will be the preferred location for quality business and economic development in the worldwide market and that the Parish will be recognized across the south for its quality of life and its attractiveness as a place to both live and work.

While AEDC is principally funded by public appropriations, the corporation is independent of any political subdivision, thereby ensuring our ability to receive privileged and confidential data and information from our clients without the risk of public disclosure under freedom of information statutes. AEDC is a member of both the Southern Economic Development Council and the International Economic Development Council and proudly adheres to the respective Codes of Ethics of both of these professional associations.

AEDC Board of Directors

AEDC is governed by a 14 member Board of Directors. These fourteen members serve without compensation and are appointed for 3 year terms by the following entities:

- Ascension Chamber of Commerce: Four Members*
- Ascension Parish Council: Two Voting Members & Two Nonvoting Ex-Officio Members**
- Ascension Parish President: One Member***

- City of Gonzales Council: One Non-voting Ex-Officio Member ****
- City of Gonzales: One Member****
- City of Donaldsonville: One Non-voting Ex-Officio Member

- Donaldsonville Chamber of Commerce: One Member******
- Town of Sorrento: One Non-voting Ex-Officio Member

The members currently standing on the board are:

Kirk Boudreaux**** Ex-Officio Member City of Gonzales **Janet Britton*** REV **Randy Clouatre**** Chevron/Renewable Energy Group (Retired) **Derrick Coco******* Secretary/Treasurer BASF Bill Dawson*** Ascension Parish Government Lauthaught Delaney***** Ex-Officio Member Americas Styrenics (Retired) **Oliver Joseph**** Ex-Officio Member Ascension Parish Council **Roger Keese**** Shell Chemical (Retired) Chuck Leblanc******* Vice Chair Bourg Insurance Kevin McCarroll* BASF (Retired) **Dwight Poirrier*** Chair Attorney at Law

Kevin Schexnayder*
Hancock Whitney
Don Schexnaydre*****
Ascension Parish School Board
Todd Varnado**
Ex-Officio Member
Ascension Parish Council

Staff

The Ascension Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) staff consists of two (2) professionals and one (1) administrative position. AEDC personnel also serve as staff to the Ascension Economic Development Foundation and the Ascension Parish Industrial Development Board.