AEDC Elects New Officers

Ascension Parish, LA (January 22, 2016) – The Ascension Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) reported today on the election of Officers at its Board of Directors meeting on January 20, 2016.  Mr. Dwight D. Poirrier was elected to Chair the organization while Mr. Don Hanna will serve as Vice Chair and Ms. Dee LeJeune as Secretary/Treasurer.  They will serve as Officers of AEDC until the next election, which will be held at the first Board of Directors meeting in 2017.

Mr. Poirrier is an attorney who represents clients in governmental and business matters.  Mr. Poirrier is a Past Chairman of the Ascension Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, an active member of the Rotary Club of Gonzales and a graduate of Leadership Ascension. Mr. Poirrier was a founding member of AEDC and has served on the Board since 2006.

Mr. Hanna is an Industrial and Commercial Realtor with Latter & Blum Commercial Real Estate.  He began his career in real estate in 1996 after retiring from BASF after 30 years of service. Mr. Hanna was selected as Realtor of the Year in 2001 by Baton Rouge Commercial Investment Division. Mr. Hanna is a Past-President of the Commercial Investment Division and a past board member of Greater Baton Rouge Association of Realtors and Ascension Parish Realtors Council. He previously served on the Industrial Development Board of Ascension Parish.  Mr. Hanna has served on the AEDC Board since 2012 and is an appointee of the Ascension Parish Council.

Ms. Dolores “Dee” LeJeune retired as President & CEO of St. Elizabeth Hospital in Gonzales and remains engaged with the hospital in a consulting capacity. As a registered nurse, she has over 40 years of experience in the healthcare field. Ms.
LeJeune has served as President of Volunteer Ascension, Secretary of the Ascension Chamber of Commerce and President of the Rotary Club of East Ascension. She is a graduate of Leadership Ascension. In 2012, she was recognized by the Baton Rouge Business Report as one of the Most Influential Business Women in the region. Ms. LeJeune currently serves on Our Lady of the Lake College Board and the St. Elizabeth Foundation Board. Ms. LeJeune has served on the AEDC Board since 2012 and is an appointee of the Ascension Chamber of Commerce.

About AEDC

The Ascension Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) was formed for the expressed purposes of diversifying the economy, increasing the tax base and creating quality, permanent jobs by encouraging the expansion of existing enterprises in Ascension Parish, Louisiana, the attraction of new enterprises and to work hand in hand with elected and appointed leaders to maintain and improve the business climate in the Parish

AEDC was created by the Ascension Chamber of Commerce, the City of Gonzales and the Parish of Ascension. Incorporated in the State of Louisiana on June 01, 2005 under the provisions of Chapter 27, Part I of Title 35 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 as amended and federally chartered under I.R.S. Code 501 (C)(6), AEDC is a private nonprofit corporation pursuant to the Louisiana Nonprofit Corporation Law, Chapter 2 of Title 12 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes as amended.

AEDC is governed by a ten (10) member Board of Directors. These ten members serve without compensation and are appointed for three (3) year terms by the following entities:

-The Ascension Chamber of Commerce: Four Members
-The Ascension Parish Council: Two Voting Members & Two Non-Voting Members
-The Ascension Parish President: One Voting Member
-The City of Gonzales Council: One Non-Voting Member